First Kiss Drama

11 Jul

In almost every movie about high school, you’ll find a first kiss strategically placed in there. Why you might ask? Because it’s a milestone in any teenage life. For some people, the lucky ones, your first kiss can open your eyes to the world of romance and beauty. Cliché of course, but it’s true. It gives you the confidence to jumpstart your metamorphosis into an adult. Some teenagers may think “it’s been long enough, I just want to get it over with.” That may sound like a good reason then, but I guarantee you it’s not as satisfying as sharing the experience with someone important to you, someone who truly cares about you.Granted, a first kiss may not be as memorable or life-changing as losing your virginity but it’s the first stop on a long, winding road to a lifetime of love. A lifetime filled with both heartache and passion. In our generation, where the necks of shirts cut down to the sternum and the skirts just barely meet what you could call your calf, pressure to have your first kiss from your peers can be overwhelming. After all, you don’t want to be the one to shamefully admit at a sleepover or a party that you haven’t had yours yet when everyone is talking about their own experience. It can be terrifying! Having your first kiss can also give you the confidence with other love interests in any situation. Because unfortunately, not all guys want to be a girls first in anything. From my own experience, the question “you haven’t kissed anyone yet?” especially from  a guy can surely make you want to change the subject and never bring it up again. So is it more beneficial to just have it and be done with it? Or should you wait for someone meaningful? Well, I wanted to wait for the perfect moment before I had mine. I would think about the scenarios, the people. But after a while, I gave up and unfortunately took the easy way out with a boy I knew I didn’t want to be more than friends with. And believe me, I wish I waited. Yes, the confidence is nice but in my heart I’ve made the kiss not count because I still want that “first kiss” you see in all the romantic movies as I’m sure any teenager does. Peer pressure is a force that will always be tremendously influential in anyones life. But so is regret. Which is why I advise any teenager out there searching for their first that, although you may find it embarrassing, use the fact that you’ve never kissed anyone as a good thing. After all, many teenagers regret their own so how jealous would they be when you get yours with someone that is truly meaningful? Use it like a superpower. “Yeah, I haven’t had my first kiss yet. But so what? I know I’m not the only one and I’m waiting for the right person so that I can look back and cherish that memory for the rest of my life.” Of course, it’s easier said than done. But when it’s right, you’ll know it. And when you do have it, hopefully regret is a word you won’t even remember. Sincerely, The Teenage Journal. 

3 Responses to “First Kiss Drama”

  1. Jane Doe July 12, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    Teenage Journal,
    I understand where your coming from but it’s hard to be that girl who hasn’t kissed anyone..

    • theteenagejournal July 12, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

      I completely 100% understand. I was that girl too! And I did take the easy way out. But I still dream about that “first kiss” experience I wish I got to have. Unfortunately, peer pressure these days doesn’t always allow us to feel confident about waiting for anything.

  2. Crystal July 22, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

    What a great moment of reflect. Peer pressure can be a real thorn in your side and it is hard to escape. Rise above it, stick with your gut instinct and never ever be afraid of being you. Glad to hear you are learning so much from these life experiences. 🙂

Leave a Reply

